In Maryland both parents are expected to contribute to their child's care in proportion to how much they earn. Usually, the parent who sees the child less, overnights, pays all or part of their share to the other parent as child support, after child custody calculations (overnight calculations) are made.
As of October 1, 2020 shared/joint physical child custody calculation have changed. A parent who has the minor child for at least 25% - 30% or at least 92 overnights per year, is in shared/joint custody and a shared custody guideline is used. This shared custody guideline gradually adjusts as the non-custodial parent gains more overnight access, so that the child support guidelines resemble a slope instead of a cliff.
A minor child is entitled to support until the child is either emancipated by judicial order, turns 18 years old, or turns 19 years old, if the minor is still in high school. In determining child support, the Courts use the Maryland Child Support Guidelines which consider a variety of factors including but not limited to:
The Umeh Law Firm, LLC
11720 Beltsville Drive, 500 A12, Beltsville MD, 20705
Copyright © 2021 The Umeh Law Firm, LLC - All Rights Reserved.